Skip to main content

You are here



The NTSA includes a number of committees, such as Professional Education, Government Affairs and more. 

We encourage members to get involved to help us maintain and improve our membership services. We welcome volunteers to serve on our committees. If you are interested in becoming a member of an NTSA committee, please fill out the volunteer application form here.


Conference Steering Committee

NTSA's Conferences Steering Committee is responsible for planning the content of the annual NTSA  Summit. 

Elite Advisor Award Judging Committee

The NTSA Elite Advisor Award is an annual member recognition program established to honor advisors who have helped shape best practices in serving clients in the 403(b) and/or 457(b) retirement industry, as well as to acknowledge their specific accomplishments and contributions.

The Elite Advisor committee meets during the 3-6 months prior to the annual NTSA Summit. It consists of NTSA advisor members, named by NTSA Leadership Council and the NTSA Executive Director, who represent the following categories of membership on an ongoing basis:

  • NTSA Executive Director is an ex officio member, voting only in the case of a tie;
  • NTSA Strategic Partner advisor representatives (2-5), on a rotating basis, for broad representation of all Strategic Partners over a period of five years; and
  • NTSA Elite Advisor Awardee(s) from previous 1-2 years (1-2).

Generally, there are five members on the NTSA Elite Advisor AJC. The NTSA Elite Advisor Award Judging Committee members generally serve for rotating two year terms. The Chair, chosen by the Executive Director, must be a NTSA member, but not necessarily an advisor, as this is an administrative, collaborative role. 


Government Affairs Committee (GAC)

The NTSA GAC meets once a month to discuss recent developments at the regulatory and legislative levels, both state and federal, including sharing intelligence, coordinating official NTSA comments on regulatory actions by the IRS and DOL, and strategizing outreach to the wider membership about important events. 


Leadership Council

The NTSA is governed by a Leadership Council which meets once a month each year. The voting members of the Leadership Council are be comprised of the Officers of NTSA and between six and seven voting members and a non-voting ex officio member. The maximum of 10 voting Leadership Council members shall be the President, the President-Elect, the Immediate Past President, and between six and seven at-large Leadership Council members, at least one of whom shall be a non-producer and at least five (if six at-large Leadership Council members) or six (if more than six at-large Leadership Council members) of whom shall be producers. The 2023 Leadership Council is listed here.


Membership Engagement Committee

The NTSA Membership Engagement Committee is charged with developing new members of NTSA and in meeting the needs of existing members of NTSA.


Professional Education Committee

The Professional Education Committee works in conjunction with the appropriate staff and consultants and is responsible for coordinating with the American Retirement Association’s Retirement Plan Academy Committee to ensure that the syllabus of the TGPC education program continues to meet the needs of the 403(b)/457 industry. The committee is also responsible for the development and content of NTSA-sponsored webcasts and educational publications, and provides content for NTSA Net and the 403(b) Advisor e-newsletter, including "MarketBeat" articles.


NTSA Groups

Strategic Partner Advocacy Group

The NTSA Strategic Partners Advocacy Group meets once a month to receive a report from NTSA staff on the latest activity at the state and federal levels, answer any questions the Strategic Partners’ representatives may have, and coordinate an industry-wide strategy for the months ahead.

Regional Networking Groups

NTSA Regional Networking Groups meet locally on an ad hoc basis and address common issues for practitioners in the industry in their region. As leaders of our profession, networking groups promote, protect, represent, and advance tax-deferred savings for America’s workers. They advocate for the industry by educating political and administrative decision makers, employers, and the public. The groups strive to advance the profession through mutual respect, cooperation, and seeking fair access to employer groups for all. Members of the group strive to be harmonious in thought and celebrate each other’s successes, whether achieved as a group or individually. Currently there are active networking groups in Arizona, Massachusetts, Connecticut, and Hawai'i.